So, you’re a fan of bourbon whiskey…
But just because you’re a fan, it doesn’t mean you can necessarily drink the stuff, especially if you have celiac disease!
Is Bourbon Gluten-Free?
Yes! Distilled bourbon is gluten-free. In fact it is good for you, even though some bourbons are made from barley, wheat or rye, the drink can still technically be enjoyed by those with celiac disease.
Don’t trust our word? Then take into account that the National Celiac Association considers all distilled alcohol to be gluten-free.
It is the distillation process that we have to thank. This process instantly makes the bourbon gluten-free. However, this doesnt mean thise with celiac disease can go out and drink bourbon without checking the individual bottle.
You see, some companies add additional flavors after the bourbon has been distilled. We recommend looking at each bottle to find a few go-to brands that offer gluten-free bourbon.
Can People with Celiac Disease Drink Bourbon?
Most individuals with celiac disease will be able to drink bourbon with no issues. However, that doesn’t mean you should throw caution to the wind. There are cases where people have reacted in a negative way, although it’s not clear why. The most probable reason is because gluten products were added to the drink AFTER the distillation processs. As such, we recommend that people drink gluten-containing alcoholic with caution.